What can be rebased?

Hi!

I am new to Universal Blue and it seems like a lot of people here I am also trying to reproduce the use-case I currently have for NixOS in UBlue.

At the moment, I am playing with bazzite; but I belive my question is probably valid for the Silverblue/Kinoite rebase process in general.

I would like to setup an image that is already configured for my network. Specifically, I would like it already joined to my ldap server and have some basic software available after rebase, so that I can keep that part of the image updated for my family.

I have been successful in creating an image which has the appropriate sssd.conf entries, but authselect doesn’t seem to configure in the container and flatpak runs, but added apps in the container do not get rebased into the running machine.

I expected that some of this wouldn’t work, but I was wondering:

1. Where is the line drawn between what is taken from the container image and what is not?
  2. Has someone come up with a way to run one time configuration commands like authselect from the image?
  3. Has someone come up with a way to preinstall some flatpaks from the image?

I expect some of this could be done with a one-shot service, but I don’t know what the full ramifications of that would be through the whole lifecycle.

Here is what I was attempting:

Containerfile:

ARG SOURCE_IMAGE="bazzite"
ARG SOURCE_SUFFIX=""
ARG SOURCE_TAG="latest"

FROM ghcr.io/ublue-os/${SOURCE_IMAGE}${SOURCE_SUFFIX}:${SOURCE_TAG}

# I have directories here for /etc/pki, /etc/sssd, and /etc/sudoers.d
# This part works!
ADD etc /etc
RUN chmod 600 /etc/sssd/sssd.conf
RUN update-ca-trust

ADD home /home
RUN chmod 600 /home/admin_user/.ssh/authorized_keys

# Not sure what I was hoping for here, but left it commented in case...
# RUN echo "" >> /etc/hosts
# RUN echo "127.0.0.2 $HOSTNAME.$HOSTDOMAIN $HOSTNAME" >> /etc/hosts
# RUN echo "::1 $HOSTNAME.$HOSTDOMAIN $HOSTNAME" >> /etc/hosts