Updates are automatic on Desktop images and manually done on Handheld/HTPC images, and both Bazzite variants upgrade everything at both a system-level and user-installed applications during the updating process.
Important: Do not rebase to a different desktop environment than the one you are currently using, please backup and reinstall instead.
Rebase to Bazzite builds from the last 90 days, change Bazzite update channels, swap between the Desktop and Handheld/HTPC images, or move completely to a different Fedora Atomic Desktop image.
Yes it is true for all of them, however I mostly focus on documentation on the Bazzite image which is why it’s here. Desktop images of Bazzite follow the same automatic update style that the main images follow. However, there’s also the -deck images that do not follow this which is why I wanted to differentiate between them.
As for pinning, we tend to only pin announcements and newsletters. All of the documentation can be found here.
When I follow the instructions for activating Update Notifications, it can’t write to the file, appears to be write protected. I get a “[ Error writing /etc/ublue-update/ublue-update.toml: Permission denied ]” when trying to save.
This isn’t explicitly answered in the docs, so I’ll ask the question and hopefully it helps other newbies like me:
Currently I am using index: 1, with index: 0 set as “Staged”. This is the new Nvidia 555 release, which I most definitely do not want to use yet based on the issues I see in that thread.
I have pinned my current working deployment using sudo ostree admin pin 1. (As an aside, the wording of the docs make me think it should be “pin 0”. As a newbie, I would think the desktop I am currently working from is my “current” deployment!)
My question is: How do I prevent the system from upgrading to index: 0 on reboot?
If Aurora thinks that my “current deployment” is index: 0 (the Staged one), should I simply run rpm-ostree rollback now to move the pointer back to index: 1, without rebooting?
Thank you - so the only way to do it is manually select each time.
That’s the part I was unsure about - I thought it might be possible to tell Grub to use the pinned deployment by default, or to remove the unwanted one so it doesn’t select it.
It is good to know that i have to manually select the pinned deployment at every boot, i thought it would automatically use the pinned deployment at every boot until i unpinned it, it was confusing that it didn’t work as i imagined.