Recovering a non-booting system

A topgrade update somehow borked my grub. It boots into the grub command line without showing any boot optins.
Attempting to load the boot .conf files from /loader/entries with the configfile unsuccessful: title, version, options unrecognized by grub as valid commands.
Attempts to mount the encrypted root manually with cryptmount also unsuccessful. It returns invalid passphrase even though it is correct.
Is there any way to somehow chroot into the filesystem and update grub? I would have to mount the root directory from initrd as root on disk is mostly empty, right?

Otherwise I could copy the home and var directories to anotger disk and reinstall the whole system?

First a disclaimer: I am not an expert in this stuff and go out of my way trying to avoid messing with it on a personal basis. But I can imagine how stressed you must be over an unbootable system and can try to brainstorm with you.

I think you’ve got a few different issues going on here. For one, it sounds like your grub.cfg is possibly erroneous and that you believe you need to mount the encrypted root to get to it. Do you not have a /boot/efi partition? Is /boot a dedicated partition? Is it encrypted?

I think having a bad grub.cfg in /boot/efi/EFI/fedora/ (never encrypted) or wherever could cause you to lose menus as you describe. And I also think it might be possible that without that config file telling grub to launch in secure boot mode that you could have problems mounting your encrypted root. But, again, I’m not an expert and I could be wildly off-base.

Is there any way to somehow chroot into the filesystem and update grub? I would have to mount the root directory from initrd as root on disk is mostly empty, right?