Project Bluefin for Embedded Developers

Hello Project Bluefin fans,

I’m new here and just wanted to say hello and maybe start some conversations. I recently attended the Open Source Summit/Embedded Open Source Summit and had a few conversations with @j0rge about my interest in the project. By way of background, I am an Embedded Linux developer (as well as a longer-term general Embedded developer). I have been a user of Linux Distros going back to Slackware in the early-to-mid 90s. I’ve never been a Distro developer so a lot of what happens in Project Bluefin is still unclear to me. My interests in this system are:

1. Immutable/Atomic updates. This is very similar to the system I support in my day job (https://www.torizon.io/) which uses an OSTree-based Yocto build to provide atomic updates to embedded devices in the Medical, Automotive and other IOT-type spaces.
  2. Reproducible custom installers. I want to create a custom spin of Project Bluefin that targets embedded developers. My ultimate goal is to have an installer ISO with all the tools I use on a daily basis so that I can, if needed, grab a new piece of hardware, install and go without spending a lot of time installing and configuring apps.
  3. The general topic of immutable/atomic distros in the Embedded and Desktop space (not so much enterprise servers for me). I recently gave a talk at Embedded World on this topic and Bluefin was one of my primary examples. Slides are here for anyone interested. I don’t believe Embedded World talks are recorded publicly. I do hope to give this talk again and have some more time to dig into it. The one thing I struggled with in the EW talk was how to demo the concept in an interesting fashion. I showed some “rpm-ostree” commands and such but it really was not terribly compelling. I would love to have suggestions on ways to make that talk better.

Thanks for any feedback you all can offer.

Drew Moseley

2 Likes