Confused between bazzite and bluefin

Hey everyone!

I am a developer and a casual gamer, and my laptop is an MSI GF65 Thin 9SD (blame msi for the ridiculous naming scheme), last week I got to know about the ublue project and digging further I got to know there are two editions. I have decided to use either bluefin or bazzite, but which one would be the best for my use case? as I said, I am a dev and a casual gamer who likes to play old windows games and sometimes new games. Thanks in advance! :grinning:

2 Likes

Since you mostly play older games and not a serious gamer, the choice I guess comes down more on the side of which DE you’d prefer, GNOME or KDE. Bluefin has only GNOME while I think Bazzite has both GNOME & KDE but latter is their ‘flagship’ DE. Plus also consider if Bluefin-dx (image specifically meant for developers) may not be more suited for you than Bazzite. As things stand right now if you’re primarily a developer you’ll want Bluefin while if you’re primarily a gamer, you may want Bazzite and if you’re ‘casual’ with both, either would do. :smile:

3 Likes

Thanks for the quick reply!, not asking any ETA but, is there any chance that bluefin can come with a KDE version in the future? I have most of my workflow tuned into plasma as of now, switching to GNOME would take time for me to get adjusted to it.

Bluefin is specifically a Gnome experience. You would basically have to find another custom image out there that makes Bluefin but with KDE. I’ve heard of people asking about that in the past but don’t remember anything materializing.

For you work as a developer, what kind of tools do you need? I think both are set up with containers and such to allow for development work while not impacting the host system, but maybe Bazzite has enough that you can use that?